Is this the greatest song ever written?

I reckon it’s up there with the best. If you’ve seen the mind-blowingly brilliant film Boyhood, I think you’ll agree with me. Blog on Boyhood coming soon but for now, check out Wilco’s Bluesy take on Bob Dylan’s sublime Most Of The Time. It has a desperately lonely bloke doing shit around the house to stop himself from thinking about the love who’s left him (has she left him or is it something darker and more tragic?). When Tweedy sings this bit…

I try to keep the house I’ve and clean
I make my bed, I change the sheets
I even learned how to use the washing machine
But keeping things clean doesn’t change anything

…my heart cracks in two.

About antmelder
Creative Partner at Coffee Cocoa Gunpowder. Passionate vegetarian; lover of books, boxing and Bruce Springsteen; speaker of bad Cantonese.

Leave a comment