Creativity is everywhere

1280px-Custom_Coaches_CB60_Evo_II_bodied_Mercedes-Benz_O500LE_CNG_bus_(Sydney_Buses)_01

I’ve always found it strange that people who work in the creative department in ad agencies are called ‘creatives’. What about the creativity in the other departments? And other industries? Or are we saying there isn’t any? This would clearly be untrue; I know people who work in retail stores, plumbers, stockbrokers and stay-at-home mums who are far more ‘creative’ than some ad agency ‘creatives’. On this subject Dave Trott often quotes Edward De Bono’s famous line, “There are lots of people calling themselves creative who are actually mere stylists.”

I was reminded of this the other day when, running late to pick up my kids, I dashed out of work and saw my bus turn the corner and head up the hill towards me. The bus stop was 50 metres away, uphill. I started running to try to get to the bus stop before the bus, but I had no chance. As the bus sped by, the driver tooted me. Not only was I going to be late, I was also getting mocked by the bus driver. Annoyed, I muttered expletives under my breath and carried on running, though it was now clear I wouldn’t make it.

However, for some reason the bus waited at the bus stop with its kerbside indicator on. Perhaps someone was asking the driver a question or there was an issue with the ticket machine. I kept running towards the bus, knowing deep-down that as soon as I got near it would indicate and pull off.

Except it didn’t. I ran up alongside the bus and saw that the doors were open. It was almost as if the driver had been waiting for me. But that never happens, right? I got on, out of breath and, as I fumbled for my ticket, the driver said ‘hello’ to me. Still a bit annoyed that he’d tooted me as I ran up the hill, I said ‘hello’ back grumpily.

“Two toots means ‘don’t worry, no need to rush, I’ll wait for you at the bus stop,” he said.

“Oh,” I replied.

“Did you know that?” he asked, probably prompted by my English accent.

“No, I didn’t,” I said.

“OK, well just so you know…two toots is ‘no rush, I’ll wait for you’ and one toot means ‘I’ve seen you, I’ll wait for you, but hurry up I can’t hang around,’” he explained.

“Ah, brilliant, OK, I get it,” I said. “Thank you so much.”

What a great idea, I thought as I sat down. Creativity is everywhere.

About antmelder
Creative Partner at DDB Sydney; passionate vegetarian; lover of books, boxing and Bruce Springsteen.

Leave a Reply

